Easter Festival 2023: Tickets for all Performances available

Single ticket sales for all performances of the Salzburg Easter Festival 2023 with Festival Conductor Andris Nelsons and the Gewandhaus Orchestra will begin on Monday, 3 October 2022, at 10:00 a.m. via www.osterfestspiele.at. You can purchase tickets conveniently via our webshop.

»Tannhäuser« in a production by Romeo Castellucci (© Wilfried Hösl)

Special Subscription: A Trio for You - our Subscription to Go

Experience »our«Easter Festival in all its facets with this new, special cycle at a special price: The »Subscription to go« with 30% reduced prices includes: Orchestra Concert II (4 April) / »Tannhäuser« (5 April) / »Träume« (6 April). Available from 3 October 2022 in two categories exclusively at the ticket office counter at Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz 11. Maximum of two subscriptions per person while stocks last.

Jonas Kaufmann as Tannhäuser

Andris Nelsons conducts a new production of Richard Wagner's masterpiece, staged by theatre visionary Romeo Castellucci. Jonas Kaufmann, who last appeared at the Easter Festival in 2015 in "Cavalleria rusticana" / "Pagliacci", will make his role debut in the title role. Marlis Petersen will sing her first Wagner role ever in the role of Elisabeth. Elīna Garança as Venus, Georg Zeppenfeld as the Landgrave and Christian Gerhaher as Wolfram von Eschenbach complete the quintet of soloists.

»To share our core repertoire with our Salzburg audiences means revealing our innermost selves – and telling the story of where our journey is taking us.«

Andris Nelsons

Orchestral & Choral Concerts

The Easter Festival concert programme presents pieces that are closely associated with the Gewandhaus Orchestra or were even premiered in Leipzig and spans the spectrum from Johann Sebastian Bach and Johannes Brahms to Anton Bruckner and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy to Sofia Gubaidulina and Thierry Escaich. Discover the programmes of the concerts here.

Orchestral concert I: Gubaidulina / Bruckner

Sofia Gubaidulina’s »Der Zorn Gottes« [»Wrath of God«] was composed for the Salzburg Easter Festival, though the pandemic meant it could not be given its world premiere here. It has meanwhile been acclaimed by critics and audiences alike, and now this mighty orchestral work is finally coming to Salzburg. The Russian composer Gubaidulina has enjoyed a long-standing collaborative relationship with the Gewandhaus Orchestra, and in this season she is the official »Gewandhaus Composer«. The second half of this concert will feature Anton Bruckner’s 7th Symphony, which was given its world premiere by the Gewandhaus Orchestra under Arthur Nikisch on 30 December 1884. This performance finally brought the composer his first-ever resounding success and national recognition.

Orchestral Concert II: Bach / Escaich / Schumann

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, a former chief conductor of the Gewandhaus Orchestra, is regarded as the man who ushered in a lasting renaissance of the music of Johann Sebastian Bach. This second symphonic programme of the 2023 Easter Festival will therefore revolve around these two men who have long been focal points in Leip- zig’s musical life. Mendelssohn Bartholdy arranged Bach’s Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major for orchestra and gave its first performance in Leipzig. Robert Schumann’s 2nd Symphony in C major was premiered by Mendelssohn Bartholdy at the Gewandhaus in 1846, and is notable for its numerous references to Bach’s music. These two works will be placed alongside music of the 21st century: a work for cello and orchestra by the French composer Thierry Escaich, which will here be given its Austrian premiere, with Gautier Capuçon as soloist.

Choral Concert

In 1869, Johannes Brahms’s »German Requiem« was given its first complete performance in the Leipzig Gewandhaus, when the Gewandhaus Orchestra and Chorus gave the world premiere of the final, seven-movement version of this work under the direction of their chief conductor Carl Reinecke. The Bavarian Radio Chorus will sing the work at the 2023 Easter Festival, and will be joined by Julia Kleiter and Christian Gerhaher as soloists.


New in Our Programme: Dance and Electro

Dance will be performed for the first time at the Easter Festival with the creation »Träume« by Emanuel Gat. You can experience electronic beats in combination with Richard Wagner's masterpieces in »Westbam meets Wagner« - an experiment to mark the beginning of a dialogue with electronic music at the Salzburg Easter Festival.

Dance and Electronic Music find their home at the Felsenreitschule.

Chamber Concerts and Late Night Concert

Two chamber concerts and one Late Night Concert feature ensembles that have been formed from the ranks of the Gewandhaus Orchestra and that bear the name of Leipzig's concert hall "Gewandhaus" as part of their name. You can find the chamber concert programmes here.

Osterfestspiele 2023: Karten für alle Vorstellungen ab sofort über unseren Webshop

Der Einzelkartenverkauf für alle Vorstellungen der Osterfestspiele Salzburg 2023 mit Festival-Dirigent Andris Nelsons und dem Gewandhausorchester beginnt am Montag, 3. Oktober 2022, um 10:00 Uhr auf www.osterfestspiele.at. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt können Sie ganz bequem Karten über unseren Webshop kaufen.

»Tannhäuser« in der Inszenierung von Romeo Castellucci (© Wilfried Hösl)

Sonderabo: Ein Trio für Dich – unser »Abo to go«

Erleben Sie »unsere« Osterfestspiele in allen Facetten mit diesem neuen, speziellen Zyklus zum Sonderpreis. Das »Abo to go« mit 30% reduzierten Preisen umfasst: Orchesterkonzert II (4. April) / »Tannhäuser« (5. April) / »Träume« (6. April). Erhältlich ab dem 3. Oktober 2022 in zwei Kategorien ausschließlich am Schalter des Kartenbüros am Herbert-von-Karajan-Platz 11. Maximal zwei Abonnements pro Person, solange der Vorrat reicht.

Jonas Kaufmann als Tannhäuser

Andris Nelsons leitet das von Theater-Visionär Romeo Castellucci inszenierte Meisterwerk Richard Wagners in einer Neueinstudierung. In der Titelpartie gibt Jonas Kaufmann, der bei den Osterfestspielen zuletzt 2015 in »Cavalleria rusticana« / »Pagliacci« zu erleben war, sein Rollendebüt. Ihre erste Wagner-Partie überhaupt wird Marlis Petersen in der Rolle der Elisabeth singen. Elīna Garança als Venus, Georg Zeppenfeld als Landgraf und Christian Gerhaher als Wolfram von Eschenbach komplettieren das Solisten-Quintett.

»Unser Kernrepertoire mit Ihnen, dem Salzburger Publikum, zu teilen, bedeutet für uns, unser Innerstes preiszugeben – und zu erzählen, wohin unsere Reise geht.«

Andris Nelsons

Orchester- und Chorkonzerte

Das Konzertprogramm der Osterfestspiele präsentiert Stücke, die eng mit dem Gewandhausorchester verbunden sind oder sogar in Leipzig uraufgeführt wurden und spannt den Bogen von Johann Sebastian Bach über Anton Bruckner und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy bis zu Sofia Gubaidulina und Thierry Escaich.

Orchesterkonzert I: Gubaidulina / Bruckner

Für die Osterfestspiele komponiert, jedoch pandemiebedingt nicht hier uraufgeführt, kommt Sofia Gubaidulinas von Kritik und Publikum gefeiertes, mächtiges Orchesterwerk »Der Zorn Gottes« endlich nach Salzburg. Die russische Komponistin und das Gewandhausorchester verbindet eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit, in dieser Saison trägt sie den Titel Gewandhauskomponistin. Im zweiten Teil des Konzerts erklingt Anton Bruckners 7. Symphonie, die am 30. Dezember 1884 vom Gewandhausorchester unter der Leitung von Arthur Nikisch uraufgeführt wurde. Diese Uraufführung brachte dem Komponisten den ersten durchschlagenden Erfolg und überregionale Anerkennung.


Orchesterkonzert II: Bach / Escaich / Schumann

Der ehemalige Gewandhauskapellmeister Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy gilt als der Dirigent, der eine nachhaltige Renaissance der Musik Johann Sebastian Bachs einläutete. Das zweite symphonische Programm der Osterfestspiele 2023 kreist daher um diese zwei Fixpunkte des Leipziger Musiklebens: Mendelssohn Bartholdy hat die Orchestersuite Nr. 3 D-Dur bearbeitet und in Leipzig zur Uraufführung gebracht. Robert Schumanns 2. Symphonie C-Dur wurde von Mendelssohn Bartholdy 1846 im Gewandhaus uraufgeführt und ist durch zahlreiche Referenzen an Bachs Musik geprägt. Diesen beiden Werken wird Musik des 21. Jahrhunderts gegenübergestellt: ein Stück für Violoncello und Orchester des französische Komponisten Thierry Escaich kommt zur österreichischen Erstaufführung, der Solist ist Gautier Capuçon.

Chorkonzert

1869 erklang Johannes Brahms’ »Ein Deutsches Requiem« erstmals in Leipzig. Das Gewandhausorchester hat gemeinsam mit dem Gewandhauschor die endgültige, siebensätzige Fassung dieses Werkes unter der Leitung von Gewandhauskapellmeister Carl Reinecke uraufgeführt. Bei den Osterfestspielen 2023 singen der Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks sowie Julia Kleiter und Christian Gerhaher.

Neu im Programm: Tanz und Elektro

Erstmals kommt bei den Osterfestspielen mit der Kreation »Träume« von Emanuel Gat Tanz zur Aufführung. Elektronische Klänge in Kombination mit Richard Wagners Meisterwerken erleben Sie in »Westbam meets Wagner« - ein Experiment, das den Startschuss für die Auseinandersetzung mit elektronischer Musik markieren soll.

Tanz und Elektronische Musik finden in der Felsenreitschule ihr Zuhause.

Kammerkonzerte und Late Night Concert

In zwei Kammerkonzerten und einem Late Night Concert spielen Ensembles, die sich aus den Reihen des Gewandhausorchesters gegründet haben und die den Namen des Leipziger Konzerthauses „Gewandhaus“ als Bestandteil ihres Namens tragen. Die Kammerkonzertprogramme finden Sie hier.